By Anne White
A user will have access to your WordPress site through a login and password, as well as having their own user profile. New users can be added by an administrator. How much access they have, and whether they can edit or change certain content on your site, is determined by the user’s role.
Users can be added to your WordPress site directly from the dashboard. A new user can be added from the top toolbar of the dashboard by hovering over the “+ New” button and clicking on “User” at the bottom of the dropdown menu that is displayed.
Alternatively, the “User” tab can be accessed from the navigation bar on the left-hand side of the page. Hovering over the tab will display a menu with multiple options. From here you can view “All Users”, edit your own user profile, or add a new user directly from this menu by clicking “Add New”.
Clicking on the “Users” tab will take you to the “All Users” page. This will display all of the users that are currently assigned to your site. On this page, the Username, Name, Email, Role, and Posts of the user are displayed.
There is the option to filter users by their role at the top of the page. For example, you can choose to display only administrators or only subscribers. You can also search for a specific user by their username in the search bar at the top right of the page.
From the “Users” tab you can view or edit a user’s profile, delete a specific user, or change a user’s role.
In order to add a new user from this tab, click the “Add New” button at the top of the page.
Clicking on “Add New” will take you to an “Add New User” page where you can fill in information to create a user profile.
In order to create an entirely new user, first you must add a username. This is what will be used, along with a password, to log in to the site. It will also be the default display name of the user, although you can change this later in the “Edit profile” page. The username can be anything you want, although it will be visible to other users on the site, and, once the username has been saved it cannot be changed. Therefore, it is important to be completely happy with the username you have chosen before saving the user’s details.
A valid email address for the user is also required. This will be used to contact the user, for example, if sending a notification about their new user details, or for sending notifications if approved comments are made on posts or pages that they have published. This email address will also be displayed in the user’s profile, and in the “All Users” tab.
Next, you should add the first and last name of the user. These can be set as their preferred display name, rather than their username. The user’s name will also be displayed when viewing the user’s profile, and in the “All Users” tab.
The URL of the user’s website can also be added.
A password will be automatically randomly generated for the new user. Clicking on the “Show Password” button will reveal this randomly generated password. You can then enter your own password into the field if you prefer. This password will be used, along with their username, when the user logs in to your site.
As long as you have entered an email in the required email field, there is the option to send the user an email to notify them about their new account and provide them with their login information. Simply tick the checkbox if you wish to do this. If you do not want to send the new user an email, for example, if you are creating an account for yourself, then simply de-select the checkbox and the user will not be sent a notification email.
Finally, you should select the role of the user. This is very important, as the role of the user determines how much access and control they have over the site. Carefully consider the requirements of the user before assigning them a role – you do not want to give someone the ability to change your site’s theme if all they need is a login to post comments with. See “The difference between WordPress user roles” for more information on each user role.
When using a multisite structure, you have the option to decide which users will be added to each site. This allows you to control users’ access to your site. For example, if a contributor needs access to an English and French site, but not a German, then you can simply add that user to those two sites rather than all of them.
You can add an existing user to a site from the “Add New User” page of that site. Simply enter the email address or username of the user, then choose a user role from the dropdown menu. The same user can have different roles depending upon the amount of access and control you would like them to have for each site. See the “Difference between WordPress user roles” guide for information on the different user roles.
Once you have added the user to a site, they will receive an email asking them to confirm the invite. If you would like the user to be added to the site without a confirmation email, simply select the “Skip confirmation email” checkbox.
Finally, click the “Add Existing User” button in order to add the existing user to the site.